Skip to content

Life of a Student Mom

May 3, 2015

It’s hard.

 

I have almost completed my first year of college while simultaneously staying home with three small children. Let me tell you, it’s not easy. I didn’t get much sleep before, now I find myself staying up until 1 or 2 am to finish a paper and then getting up at 6 or 7 (after waking up every hour or two for various reasons) and gearing up for a full day of kids and more homework. I haven’t had much time to do anything else.

It’s hard.

I get overwhelmed, angry, emotional, and I often wonder if I’m doing the right thing.

I feel selfish for going back while my kids are so young.

I second guess myself every day.

I wonder if I’m ruining my kids.

All that shit.

Right now I am doing homework on a TV tray while sitting on a camp chair in my livingroom.  My livingroom is stacked full of boxes while we wait to find a new place to move. Homework and kids aren’t easy to begin with…..try doing it all in the midst of chaos.

 

But hey, there is some goodness to this as well!

-I’m learning a ton.

-I’m finally doing what I have been dreaming of doing since I was about 5.

-I’m using my brain. I’m sure moms everywhere will understand that one…

-I’m teaching my kids about the value of education, and I’m modeling hard work.

-I made the President’s Honor Roll.

-In 6 more years I will end up with my dream job.

-I will probably end up with more money than I know what to do with.

-Scratch that last one! Sailboat.

 

It will all be worth it in the end, right? I think so….that’s why I keep on going. I want to be one of those successful people. I want to achieve my goals. I want to show my kids that anything is possible. I also want to be a good mom. This shit is not easy. My advice would be to finish school before kids….because SERIOUSLY, it would be so. much. easier. If I had a couple hours every day to do my studying – UNINTERRUPTED – I could get an insane amount done. But hey, the saying goes if you want something done, give it to a busy person. So true. It seems like the busier I get in life, the more I get done.

So yeah, college moms rock. We know how to get shit done – and keep everyone alive!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

