Skip to content

adventures in fiber – my first art yarn

April 25, 2012

over 40 lbs of sheep heaven right here.

My AWESOME friend Gayle gave me a ton (and by ton I mean like 20 kilos) of unbelievable gorgeous roving this weekend and I am happier than a pig in shit. Seriously. Pigs in shit are not as happy as me right now. This is a serious amount of fluff people. Words cannot express how sheep fluff makes me feel.

Words however can express how sheep fluff in this quantity makes the husband feel…..”Oh my fucking god, are you serious? Where is that going to go? In the house?”

Exit husband.

Back to me.

So I grabbed a handful (after drooling for a half hour or so…) and did a quick Kool-aid dye, let it dry overnight and spun it up last night and this is what I got:

my first attempt at art yarn

I’m not 100% happy with the colour but it’s not bad. It’s kinda pretty. I might make a doll scarf or something out of it lol. So my second attempt at art yarn (and Kool aid dyeing) turned into this:

some orange, yellow and purple in there

I like it but I didn’t make enough lol. Another doll scarf it is!

I’ve been having so much fun with this I almost feel guilty for wanting to make money off of it………………………………but not really. I wonder how the husband will feel when he finds out I want a carding machine next….?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    April 26, 2012 6:10 pm

    those look awesome…so did you know i have a yarn addiction lol…i was telling gregg about your spinning wheel and yarn..almost same reaction as adam…OMFG are you gonna want one now…where the hell would we put one…i never even said i wanted one lol

    • May 2, 2012 11:28 pm

      So many things I never knew about you lol. I’m going to be selling my wheel soonish (I have my heart set on another) , let me know if you want me to bring it up LOL. You don’t really have to tell Gregg…..once it’s in your house, it’s in!

Leave a Reply

