Skip to content

mittens for the boy

April 24, 2012

I whipped these babies up a couple nights ago for the little man. I know… why mittens when summer is upon us?! Well his hands get cold outside when he’s playing because we are still in that transition time between warm and cool weather. Also they are cute and I couldn’t resist the worlds easiest project. Also they will fit him this fall too. But really, I did it cause I could.

They are so freaking adorable. He woke up the next morning and LOVED them. Would not take them off. That just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. I love these moments because someday soon he wont think ‘mama-made’ is cool anymore. Better take as many pictures as I can to torture him with later :D (I don’t have any pics of him wearing them, yet! Silly me.)

Anyway, this pattern is quite ingenious! It’s an Oliver+S pattern from the Oliver+S Little Things To Sew book. It is perfect for toddlers because they can still use their thumb to grab things, it stays on their hands, it’s comfortable for them and you can use whatever material you want really. It was soooooo easy too (pay no attention to the imperfect parts, ahem.). I like easy these days. Makes me feel like I accomplished something besides keeping the kids alive lol. For these mittens I used some wool blend scraps (from a whole lot that I got from a friend last year) and some skull fabric scraps. I am totally going to make another cute girly pair for Miss Boo when another rare moment of two-kids-sleeping-at-the-same-time occurs again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. janimclean permalink
    April 25, 2012 6:13 am

    Adorable!

Leave a Reply

