Skip to content

adventures in fiber

April 8, 2012

I treated myself this past weekend to some professional dyes and some new beautiful silky merino un-dyed yarn. I really want to try my hand at creating some of my own beautiful colour combinations. My husband seems to be taking my fiber addiction fairly well. He hasn’t set up an intervention yet…..haha.

The whole thing gave me an idea….I think this is going to be the start of a little series here on my blog – ‘Adventures in Fiber’. Every week (Tuesdays seem nice) I will post something new I have learned about fiber. I will post about everything from washing and drying raw fibers, carding and combing, prepping, dyeing, to spinning (drop spindle and wheel), storing and finally knitting. From raw fiber to finished product – in no particular order, or I guess I should say ‘in whatever order happens to come first’ lol. I think this will be so interesting and fun, mainly for me! I get to see my own progress. The point of this is not to teach anyone anything, but to share my own adventures in working with fiber in every stage.

Stay tuned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

