Skip to content

my new spinning wheel

February 18, 2012

I got it!

my new (well, new to me!) spinning wheel

And wow is it ever beautiful! It’s a single treadle Ashford Traditional and I feel like I stole it! This lady was basically liquidating her whole house to move to another state and I just happened to see her ad on craigslist before anyone else. I totally lucked out with this one. I took it to Paradise Fibers to get serviced and it works like a charm.

My husband, poor guy, has been so amazing in dealing with this thing in our livingroom. Have I mentioned how awesome he is? Seriously people, this was the last thing he wanted in our house lol. BUT, it was my birthday and I practically begged him for it. He didn’t really have a choice and he’s been so good about that, rofl!

So here it is in the middle of our house (and it’s really not ‘small’ either) along with the huge batt of wool that I am practicing on. It’s a lot harder than it looks!! My first round is totally twisted and full of lumps, but wow is it ever fun! I’m hooked. Both kids love watching the wheel too. Mr. O is fascinated with how it all works and Miss Boo is just mesmerized by the motion. I’m just thrilled that I can make yarn!!

Sorta….

You can see my ‘yarn’ lol

What you see in this picture is not even a whole batt of wool, it’s about half a batt. I have 4 more batts of this, plus my grandparents have about 30 more in storage for me! Grey, like what you see here and natural black and natural white. This wool is about 20 years old too (and stored well and in good condition). It’s been waiting for me for that long! Think of all the beautiful things that could be knit up with this wool…aahhhhh…

If anyone local wants to come hang out, drink tea and spin or knit….you know where I am!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 11:59 am

    HappY birthday (late)..Ur spinning is aewsome.. So I am new to reading your site but I have to say how fun it is to see another Mother Spinning..I drop spin but hope to some day learn the wheel.. I have been trying to find local knitters & spinners i could always hang out at Jo-Ann’s or Paradise Fibers but i don;’t think the hub would enjoy that much.. it would be great together with other local fiber crafters

    • May 16, 2012 2:37 pm

      Thanks! I have a wonderful group of friends that meet once a week to knit/spin/whatever, but they are so far away from me it takes forever to get there and a ton of gas. I am not able to go as much as I would like. I would love it if there was a group that met up on the north end!

      • May 16, 2012 3:53 pm

        i found a group that meets north side just up from downtown .. but closer to the Y or Wandermere would be better.

Leave a Reply

