Skip to content

Intactivism

July 20, 2010

In this blog post I would like to touch on something that I am very very passionate about and will (somehow) be incorporating into a new line of my art work coming soon. For almost 2 years I have been researching routine infant circumcision and have reached a point where I cannot keep quiet about it anymore. I realize this is a controversial topic but it shouldn’t be. It is truly horrifying and a complete disregard for a baby’s basic human right, and that is the right to the perfect body he/she is born into.

Bodily integrity. Genital integrity. Human rights.  I guess you could call me an intactivist.

I now live in a country that thinks nothing of putting beautiful newborn baby boys through the most painful traumatic procedure of their life just hours or days after coming into the world. This helpless baby knows nothing but the warmth and safety of his mothers womb and relies solely on her for comfort and sustenance (although formula has replaced her in that sense as well, but that’s an entirely different topic). To be taken away by strangers and strapped down to a cold piece of plastic and have the most sensitive part of your body crushed, ripped and cut away from him, while screaming for his mother to save him from the absolute unbearable pain, is truly heartbreaking for me. The worst part is that so many mothers have no idea that this is not recommended, and even cruel. It is absolute torture. It is mutilation to the very core of our existence. And thousands of perfect, beautiful baby boys go through this every day. For what?

I will try not to get into the religious aspect of it because I just don’t have the willpower for that right now. Plus there are so many other people out there who have written about this subject extensively and there is no need for me to just repeat everything. I will touch on some key points and explain why I want to use such a controversial topic for the inspiration in some of my art.

First, I want to promote awareness. Not enough people know what circumcision actually is before subjecting their baby boy to it. Most doctors do not know enough about the anatomy of the foreskin and so they are giving out false information to new parents and making totally outdated claims as to the benefits of cutting their brand new baby boys genitals.

  • circumcision does NOT prevent HIV/AIDS. Condoms and abstinence do. We don’t cut girls breasts off in the hopes of preventing breast cancer.
  • circumcision is NOT an effective way of  preventing UTI’s.  Girls get more UTI’s than intact males do.  Also, that’s what antibiotics are for.
  • circumcision is NOT ‘cleaner’. Girls have more folds and somehow we manage to keep ourselves clean. Again, it is stupid to think that cutting a body part off is somehow more hygienic.
  • circumcision is NOT a decision that anyone should make except the person to whom the penis/vagina belongs.
  • circumcision is NOT risk free. In fact there are more circumcision related deaths per year than deaths related to slings, and MANY more unaccounted for. Bleeding, even just an ounce, can be fatal to a baby.
  • circumcision IS VERY profitable! In fact, not only do you pay to have your baby mutilated, the doctors then sell the foreskin to the highest bidder who then sells it to cosmetic companies for use in anti-aging skin creams, which let’s face it, people buy.
  • circumcision IS cosmetic surgery.

Many people feel the need to protect baby girls from circumcision but think nothing of the baby boys. I want to do my part to raise awareness that this is not acceptable. Every baby, boy, girl and transgendered should have the right to choose FOR THEMSELVES anything regarding cosmetic surgery on their body.

There is no medical reason whatsoever to cut off a fully functioning and integral part of the human body. It is not just a piece of skin! In fact it is the most sensitive part of the body!  There are between 20,000 and 100,000 nerve endings in the foreskin making it more sensitive than even the clitoris! Why on earth would anyone want to remove it? It’s mainly because mass majority of people do not know any of this. It’s sad that more people do not question why we are so into cutting our babies right out of the womb. When you really think about it, it makes no sense. All of the same arguements are used to promote female circumcision too and most of us here in the ‘Western world’ are outraged at the thought of that, yet we don’t blink an eye when it comes to our sons…

My aim is to use my abilities (artistic and otherwise) to inform people that cutting babies is not acceptable.  If you would like more information on all of this please check out Dr. Momma (Peaceful Parenting).  And DON’T stop there! Do your research, inform yourself. I’m pretty sure the more you know about it, the more you will be against it. Knowing what I know now about circumcision, I would die a thousand deaths before ever subjecting my perfect beautiful baby boy to such a disgusting and barbaric procedure. I would never allow it.  The mama bear in me would never allow someone to harm my baby.

I could go on and on actually about this topic but I want you to do your own research and not take my word for it. I want this post to inspire you to look into this ‘common’ practice a little more. Why is this considered ‘normal’??! I want to help dispel the myths around circumcision…..I’m excited to be a part of this growing awareness.

Please stay tuned for updates on the work I’m doing for this cause!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 5:38 pm

    Thank you for all you do!

    “Top Ten (10) Ways Circumcised Male Sex ALSO Hurts WOMEN!”:
    http://www.SexAsNatureIntendedIt.com/

    Without intact genitals (I’m intact), it’s a lose-lose situation.

  2. August 3, 2010 2:09 pm

    Very nice! I think it is important to compare male circumcision to the standards we have for female circumcision or other forms of bodily alteration possible for baby girls like removal of breasts to prevent breast cancer. Great post!! I’m excited to see how you communicate these ideas in your art and lifestyle.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

