Skip to content

Homemade Laundry Soap Recipe

May 18, 2010

This weekend I looked everywhere for the perfect laundry soap recipe and I finally found one. I successfully made a batch and rewrote the directions so they were easier to understand. I feel bad because I don’t even remember where I got the original recipe from so I can’t give credit, but I figure because I made enough changes to it I will be ok. So here it is….

Homemade Laundry Soap

Ingredients:

  • -1/2 bar castile soap or any other pure soap
  • 1/2 cup washing soda (Arm & Hammer)
  • 1/2 cup borax (20 Mule Team)

Water (in 3 different measures)

  • 1st batch of water – 6 cups (boiled)
  • 2nd batch of water – 4 cups (hot)
  • 3rd batch of water – 1 gallon PLUS 6 cups (this will be cool water)

*Note: measure all water and have ready (second batch ready for microwave, glass canning jar works)

2 gallon bucket or bigger (ice cream pail or 5 gallon paint pail for double batches)

Directions:

  • grate half bar of soap into little bowl
  • measure borax/soda into another small bowl
  • boil first batch of water (6 cups)
  • microwave second batch of water in a glass jar or other microwavable container until hot
  • mix grated soap into pot of boiled water and stir off and on until soap melts on Med. heat
  • remove from heat and add soda/borax mixture
  • stir until all is dissolved
  • pour this mixture into bucket or pail
  • add second batch of hot water from the microwave and stir
  • add third batch of room temp/cool water and stir
  • cover and let sit for a day
  • stir before each use

*Notes:

  • The final product will probably be a lumpy, watery, jelly-like substance
  • it will not produce suds in the washer and that’s OK (it’s not suds that clean anyway!)
  • this batch will make about 60-70 loads which calculates to about 1 cent per load when you take into consideration how much the ingredients cost and how many batches you can make with them.
  • you can use different soap, just make sure it’s pure enough.
  • you can also add essential oils if you want, just add 10-15 drops after the soap has cooled to room temp. Stir well.
  • you can put the soap in old detergent bottles, just shake before use.

I washed 6 loads of laundry with this soap and I love it. It works perfect for cloth diapers too. There is little scent but it smells clean. I’m so happy with how much money I’m going to save and the fact that I barely have to go down the stinky detergent aisle in the grocery store anymore. I know my clothes and diapers are clean and I’m not contributing to the enormous amount of chemicals in the water system. It’s gentle on my baby’s skin and our stuff doesn’t smell like perfume. What more could you want? Not only does it cost 100 times less than the stuff in the store, but it works better, is better for you and the environment and you get a certain satisfaction from making something yourself. I have enough ingredients for at least a years worth (I do laundry at least once if not 2-3 times a day) and it all cost me about $7!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

