Skip to content

Fabric swap!

April 16, 2010

There are currently 2 sewing projects I’ve got going right now and one is about to go in the mail. Throughout my pregnancy I came to know (through the internet) a great group of ladies from all over the world that were all due around the same time as me. We became friends and have talked about all kinds of things in the past year. We did a bead swap last year where we all sent beads to everyone else and we made bracelets out of them. It was really sweet to get something from a bunch of ladies you have never met. Each bead came with a little note from the person basically saying why they chose it and/or giving a blessing for a good birth.

This time around a few of us are doing a fabric swap. We want to make a little baby quilt and so we are all sending each other an 8″ x 8″ square of the fabric of our choice. For mine I chose to cut up one of my saris. It’s beautiful. Red and gold. It’s not the easiest fabric to sew with but I think it represents me very well.

My 8×8 pieces ready to be sent away

I can’t wait to see what I get in return. Everyone is so different and some of them from far away. This quilt will be so unique. Such a treasure to give our babies. This piece came from here and this one came from there….I will share the pictures of  all the fabric as soon as I get them!

My other little sewing project is a stuffed owl I have been wanting to do for awhile. So far I have just cut out the fabric but I want to embroider the eyes and details on before I sew it up and stuff it. I’m not using a pattern for this one….I figured why, it’s too easy and I want it to be different. I have a feeling this will be one cute little buddy for Mr. O when he’s done.

The pieces I cut out for Mr. O’s stuffed owl

With all the things I love to sew and make, I can’t tell you how much I have been longing for a serger. It’s been on my wish list for quite some time now. I have 2 beautiful sewing machines (one needs to be fixed) but I want a serger so bad for so many more projects, like diapers and clothes! Does anyone have one they want to sell?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

