Skip to content

Glass jars and a cleaner pantry

March 30, 2010
tags: ,

Lately I have been obsessing about clearing out junk in our home. Everything from stuff we haven’t used in over a year to clothes that no longer fit and everything in between. My goal over the next few weeks is to clear out the plastic food storage containers and replace them with all the glass jars that I have been saving and cleaning. Eventually I would like to have no plastic in our house save for the stuff that we can’t help….like the keyboard I happen to be typing this out on lol.

So to start, I have taken some pictures of how the pantry cupboard looks right now with no real organization or proper storage.

Totally unorganized and messy pantry cupboard

It’s pretty messy and I kinda found a mealy bug in a drawer so that pretty much made me freak out a bit. I’m a clean freak and the mere thought of little invaders makes me shudder. I have always been a very clean person and it has been difficult living with others in the past that haven’t had the same high expectations for organization and cleanliness as I do. My husband will be the first to admit that he can be quite content in a messy space, whereas I can go nuts at the slightest misplaced item. Sometimes I wonder how I’m going to cope with 2 boys in the house…..

Anyway I washed all the glass jars and I transferred as many of the dry goods as I could into them, but I still have a ton of beans and rice that need a home.

I have way more dry goods than jars…..

This means I have to find more but they are hard to come by these days it seems. Ideally I’m looking for gallon and half gallon jars and the only place I have seen them so far is online but the shipping is pretty expensive. It would be worth the expense but I want to see if I can find a store that might be able to order me some first.  I want to make neat labels too I just haven’t decided what I’m going to do yet.

Glass storage just looks so pretty and reminds me of my Grandma’s walk in pantry when I was a child, and even still! All those neatly arranged big jars full of goodies like grains, raisins, chocolate chips and spices and teas all the way to the ceiling . Oh how I wish I had a picture of it for inspiration! The smell of her pantry is something I will never forget as long as I live. No pantry has ever smelled as good as hers. We would go in there with a big bowl and a scoop and she would open each jar and scoop whatever it was that her ‘recipe’ called for. She doesn’t even use recipes really, they are all in her head but she is slowly writing them down so they can become a family treasure…I can’t wait!

UPDATE:

So for the past week I have been looking everywhere for the perfect jar and finally settled on plain old canning jars in a combination of quart and half gallon sizes. I’m still looking around for gallon jars for my flour and sugar but they are very hard to find. I spent last night cleaning out the new quart jars and putting beans and rice into their new homes. So far it looks really pretty.

Almost all the dry goods are in glass jars now

The reasons I’m loving canning jars for food storage:

  • they are so inexpensive and you can get them at almost any grocery store
  • they are virtually all the same so they look neat, tidy and uniform
  • they are easy to clean
  • glass doesn’t absorb odors and doesn’t leach chemicals into your food like plastic does
  • smaller sizes are perfect for snack containers on the go instead of using plastics
  • smaller sizes are also great for bulk spices instead of spending money on the little spice jars
  • they are clear and you can see exactly what’s in them and when you’re low on stock
  • the wide mouth sizes are stack-able
  • personally I think they look pretty all in a row holding different foods

all uniform and pretty

I’m thinking of asking the huz really nicely if we can go to the one store in the city that might carry the bigger sizes so I can finish this project this weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janice McLean permalink
    July 29, 2010 5:54 pm

    I love your blog. As for the large jars I use the big pickle jars that are about a gallon. I’m guessing you don’t eat much for pickles but if you know someone that does ask them for their jars.
    Take Care!
    Janice

  2. April Milton permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:46 pm

    wow…a whole side of you i never knew…your blog is a very interesting read…keep it up…as for jars….try secondhand stores and antique shops…that’s where i found my jar that i made a lamp out of…value village here quite often has tons of jars…not sure if you have one there or something similar

Leave a Reply

