Skip to content

My weekend project!

March 22, 2010

This past weekend I made a knitting needle case for myself using some wonderful fabric I got from a seller on Etsy. The project took me basically the whole weekend much to the dismay of my poor family whom I neglected in the process. A big thank you to my husband……because without him I wouldn’t have had the time to start it let alone finish it! I’m so proud of my work. It was a never ending amount of measuring, folding, pressing, more measuring, more folding and more pressing. My hard work paid off and I’m totally pleased with how it turned out.

My finished knitting needle case

For more information on the pattern I used, you can find it here at WiredUpDesigns.

This is a great pattern and so easy to follow.

Here’s a few pictures…..

Just some of the great fabric I got from a destash sale on etsy

The design I layed out for my project

Over the past few months as I have obsessed over knitting and sewing I saw a really great project that incorporated both crafts – a knitting needle bag! As soon as I saw it I knew I could make it. All I needed was a pattern. I looked everywhere for one and finally one popped up on a google search about 12 pages in. The designer of the pattern just so happens to live in WA. I decided to go for it and buy it and honestly it was a great $15 spent. The pattern is so easy to follow with pictures and tons of tips and comes on high quality paper.

All of my needles (so far at least) and notions fit into the case. I am excited to bring it to my next knitting group. I’ve already had a couple people ask me if I plan to make more to sell, but at this point until I get good and fast I’m not sure I can make it worth it.

The fabric is from a destash sale on Etsy.  It was basically a mystery box of super high quality fabric including some Michael Miller and Robert Kaufman. The patterns I never would have picked for myself but they turned out awesome! That’s the beauty of a mystery box. I can think of 20 more projects I can do with all the fabric. Actually I’m planning on making the knitting tote next!

Not patterns you would think to put together but it works so well!

A close up of the finished project

Close up of the notions pocket

All rolled up and ready to go!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

